Photo 101 by Nicole’s Classes: Shutter Speed

The next part of the first week’s homework assignment for Photo 101 was using shutter speed while photographing a subject in motion.  This one threw me through a loop at first since I don’t have any kids or pets running around and it’s been too cold outside to watch bikers at the park or what have you.  Eventually I remembered my trusty Kitchenaid mixer — it turns out that it comes in handy for more than just tasty treats!

I started with a fast shutter speed to freeze the motion of the paddle attachment.  I know the focus is off, and I’m sure it didn’t help that I needed to use ISO 800 in order to get a short shutter speed given the lack of natural light in my kitchen.  I swear that the paddle was moving when I snapped this shot:

fast shutter speed/freeze motion

f/1.8, 1/200 sec, ISO 800

And again with a longer shutter speed to show motion:

slow shutter speed/show motion

f/3.2, 1/10 sec, ISO 100

That photo was actually taken at one of the slower mixer speeds.  My first few attempts lost the paddle almost entirely because it was spinning so fast!

One thought on “Photo 101 by Nicole’s Classes: Shutter Speed

  1. Pingback: Snow After Dark | Pretty in Prose

Leave a Reply

