Monticello

This past weekend the mister and I took advantage of the spring-like weather (finally!) took a day trip to Monticello.

Monticello was the home and life-long project of Thomas Jefferson — it took roughly forty years to complete!  I’m sure that was not helped much by his total revision of plans halfway through construction following his years as the ambassador to France.  With its inspirations from classical architecture, there was no other building like it in the U.S in its time.

f/9, 1/80 sec, ISO 100

f/9, 1/80 sec, ISO 100

monticello_3

f/8, 1/320 sec, ISO 100

We made it out on their last weekend of off-season prices, so the landscaping was still a little bare.

f/3.5, 1/500 sec, ISO 100

f/3.5, 1/500 sec, ISO 100

f/6.3, 1/250 sec, ISO 100

f/6.3, 1/250 sec, ISO 100

But it was still nice to revisit this piece of Americana and enjoy the spring-like weather.  It’s snowing (again) as I write this.  This should not be happening in late March!

f/13, 1/160 sec, ISO 100

f/13, 1/160 sec, ISO 100

I have some more detail shots that I’ll share in another post.  As always, I appreciate any tips for improvement you might have to offer — just leave a comment!

6 thoughts on “Monticello

  1. Pingback: Signs of Life | Pretty in Prose

  2. Hi Megan,
    I’m a fellow SITS girl. 🙂 I love the leading lines, the framing and your use of the rule of thirds. My suggestion would be to not have your shutter speed so high. 1/100sec is fast enough for items that aren’t moving. Good for you for getting out to explore!

    • Thanks for the suggestion! I was actually using aperture mode for a lot of these pics which probably explains the high shutter speeds. I usually shoot in manual mode, but I know that I won’t always have the time to make all my adjustments for proper exposure when traveling so I wanted to get used to using a semi-auto mode also.

  3. Pingback: More Monticello | Pretty in Prose

  4. Pingback: The Grounds of Monticello | Pretty in Prose

  5. Pingback: A Better Camera Bag | Pretty in Prose

Leave a Reply

